Egg Farming Cornucopia

On Tuesday, I am flying down to Atlanta, Georgia.  I am one of 20,000+ attendees from over 100 countries who are gathering to discuss, gawk at, learn about and share ideas on the latest and greatest in the world of poultry farming.  If a chicken will ever see, hear, smell, taste, touch or be processed by, it will be on display in Atlanta.  The convention center is many football fields in size, and will be filled, shoulder to shoulder with farmers, vets, scientists, salesmen and industry reps who are hoping to discover the cutting edge of egg and chicken farming technology. 

There is also a scientific program where some of the more obscure points of vet medicine and research will be presented and discussed.  I am looking forward to this exchange of knowledge, but I can imagine that most of you would pay good money NOT to attend.  Interestingly, this year (similar to last year, but not common before that), a big part of both the displays and the scientific program deals with animal welfare.  It is going to be COOL. 

Getting to talk face to face with the guys who invented the new cage systems, or the better light-bulbs, or the better mouse-traps (It’s true…there ARE better mouse-traps), is an amazing opportunity!  Why the plastic at the front of the cage is higher density than the stuff on the side, or why the light-bulb manufacturer spent so much more money on his bulbs so the light contains more of the red spectrum….these things can’t be found in a sales manual, or be explained by the company rep who you have contact with.

I think it’s interesting and worth noting how intricate, in-depth, and exhaustive the knowledge about poultry farming is.   I’ve been involved in other aspects of agriculture in many capacities, and have heard (or had to say) “I don’t know” when discussing a lot of aspects of livestock farming.  There are a lot less grey areas in poultry farming (although still plenty)….partly because so much research is done in the area, partly because of the controlled housing that the birds are kept under, and partly because we collect so much data on each flock.   I’m looking forward to my trip (being wined and dined by companies hoping to influence my opinion is not a horrible part of it either), and will post after I get back about anything that I think will be of interest to y’all.  Chickens are chickens, and knowledge about professional farms often help with backyard issues too.

Mike the Chicken Vet

6 responses to “Egg Farming Cornucopia

  1. How Interesting! I hope you enjoy it Mike – and then come back and blog about the most interesting bits. 🙂 Don’t forget your camera.

  2. Have fun, and enjoy the warmer weather.

    Andrew

  3. Hey Mike,

    Toronto voted no to chickens. Just wondering what your thoughts are, it might be a good idea for a post. Hope Atlanta is/was fun.

    Toronto Needs Chickens

    • Hi Mike,

      Here is a video clip that is of my brother and I on CTV news. We were also on CBC, and might be in the star tomorrow morning.

      Here is the link:

      http://watch.ctv.ca/news/#clip607513

      Take a look, and tell me what you think.

      Andrew

      • Andrew;

        You guys came off looking great!! I also really like what I saw of both your coop and your hens. They look like they are doing very well, and 3 eggs per day is awesome! Check out my blog post…..I think it’s important not to take they decision personally….the decision by council has to be something that can be applied to all the residents of Toronto…good and bad, and I have met enough times with the office in charge of the file to know that they were being very thorough in trying to set up a GOOD bylaw, to protect both the people and the chickens. I think mostly, the issue just got to be too complicated for them to deal with…you know how complicated setting up a coop was…..imagine setting up a program to try to prevent morons from screwing it up!

        Anyway, thanks for sending me the link, and you should feel proud of how you looked after your hens, and how you and your brother presented yourself on screen….I know how nerve wracking it is, and you did a great job.

        Mike

  4. HI Mike,

    Thanks for all the support.
    We will just keep working on it!
    We have another year to work, and we have a lot more time.

    We actually got 4 eggs today, but 1 was laid after the filming. We got 4 eggs yesterday, and 3 eggs the day before. They are finally laying!

    We were on CBC and CTV, and looks like there will be an article featuring us in the Toronto Star tomorrow!

    Once again, I appreciate all the time you dedicate towards chickens, and I love all your posts.

    Andrew

Leave a Reply

